Cratedb error when using 'SELECT DISTINCT ON'

Hi,

I was fascinated by Cratedb and I’m trying it (as a complete newbie) to see if it’s possible to use it instead of postgresql, especially with time series.

I have a query that works perfectly in Postgresql but when run on CrateDB it throws an error.

SELECT DISTINCT ON (device_id) device_id, status, utime
FROM Mydb.logs
WHERE utime BETWEEN ‘2022-01-01 00:00:00’ and ‘2022-01-02 23:59:59’

‘utime’ is the datetime as CrateDB TIMESTAMP type.

The error is :
SQLParseException[line 1:17: no viable alternative at input 'SELECT DISTINCT ON']

CrateDB or query syntax issue ?

Thanks for your help.

Luca

Hi Luca,
CrateDB does not currently support DISTINCT ON , but you can achieve the same results with a query like:

SELECT t.device_id,t.status,t.utime
FROM (
	SELECT DISTINCT device_id,status,utime
		,row_number() OVER (
			PARTITION BY device_id 
			ORDER BY device_id,status,utime
			) AS rn
	FROM Mydb.logs
	WHERE utime BETWEEN '2022-01-01 00:00:00' AND '2022-01-02 23:59:59'
	) AS t
WHERE rn = 1
ORDER BY device_id,status,utime

Please note you can change the ORDER BY to meet your needs.
I hope this helps.

1 Like

Thank you very much for the solution and for the speed with which you replied !!
I’m liking CrateDB more and more, thanks also to the community.

Sorry if I take advantage of your courtesy, would you be kind enough to tell me how to modify your solution to locate the record with the timestamp closest to the second date or closest to a single specific date, without defining a time frame via BETWEEN … AND …) ?

A thousand thanks.

Luca

No worries at all, and apologies I got busy with something else and it took me a while to come back to you.

To get, for each device_id, the record with the utime closest to the upper boundary of the filter on utime, we could modify the ORDER BY in the row_number() function to ORDER BY utime desc