Docker-compose, run crash commands when starting containers

Hello,

I’m new to CrateDB and am currently testing it out for a possible use case.
As I’m using docker-compose to spin up my single-node (for now) container, I’d like to add more customization right away instead of having to do this manually by hand afterwards through bash every time on a new host.

What I’d like to do is to run docker-compose up -d with the following:

1. spin up a single-node container
  2. After it’s up & running, automatically run “crash” and create a standard table with predefined columns
  3. also use “crash” to create a new user with password and grant all privileges
  4. after that change the auth.host_based.config method to “password”…and restart container?

my test docker-compose.yml file:

cratedb:
    image: crate:4.7.1
    container_name: cratedb
    #environment:
    #  - CRATE_DOCKER_CRATEWEB_SUPERUSER_USERNAME=admin <-- this doesn't work..?
    #  - CRATE_DOCKER_CRATEWEB_SUPERUSER_PASSWORD=pass <-- this doesn't work..?
    ports:
      - 4200:4200
      - 5432:5432
    restart: always
    volumes:
      - cratedb_data:/data
      - cratedb_config:/crate/config
    command: ["crate",
              "-Cnetwork.host=_local_, _site_",
              "-Cauth.host_based.enabled=true",
              "-Cauth.host_based.config.0.user=crate",
              "-Cauth.host_based.config.0.method=trust",
              "-Cauth.host_based.config.1.user=admin",
              "-Cauth.host_based.config.1.method=trust",
              "-Cdiscovery.type=single-node",
              # "crash", "CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS test2 (ts TIMESTAMP, lifecounter INTEGER, fields OBJECT)"] <-- this line doesn't work  

Above file only works for running the container. However, creating a user either through env or running crash through “command” won’t work. I’m still learning a lot about docker, so there must be a better way to go about this.