Java Strategy for CrateDB

Hi there,

I’m new to CrateDB (although not to distributed datastores and clusters in general) and wonder what the recommended practice is for Java development. I see that there used to be a Spring Data adapter, but that was discontinued in favor of a planned JPA integration. Has that ever come to fruition or is there another modern framework supported? Or is the only way to use CrateDB with the low level JDBC API?

I should add that I did try to use the Crate JDBC driver with Spring Data Jpa and setting the PostgreSQL Hibernate dialect. However, the implementation seems to be incomplete, because on saving a simple entity I got:

java.sql.SQLFeatureNotSupportedException: Connection: prepareStatement(String sql, int autoGeneratedKeys) not supported

The entity looks like this:

@Id
    @GeneratedValue(strategy = GenerationType.IDENTITY)
    private Long id;

@Column(nullable = false)
    private String name;

Hi @ulim

For Spring the first choice would be Spring Data JDBC.

A lot has been changed in the last few years on our way to make CrateDB more compatible with ansi SQL and the PostgreSQL dialect / wire protocol. That also lead to the deprecation of some adapters.

Just to be sure, you are using the latest version of CrateDB?

I have been using io.crate:crate-jdbc:2.6.0, it’s the only release available in mvnrepository.com. And these are my Spring settings:

spring.datasource.url=jdbc:crate://localhost:5432/
spring.datasource.username=crate
spring.datasource.password=
spring.datasource.driver-class-name=io.crate.client.jdbc.CrateDriver
spring.jpa.properties.hibernate.dialect=org.hibernate.dialect.PostgreSQLDialect

Hi,
I notice you make reference to GenerationType.IDENTITY. CrateDB is a distributed system and it currently does not have a concept of sequences like identity columns, but there is a function called gen-random-text-uuid which is a suitable substitute in some cases.